(no subject)
Nov. 20th, 2010 05:10 pmReply with a fandom and I'll tell you the following:
› favorite character
› least favorite character
› prettiest character
› character I wanna marry
› favorite pairing
› favorite episode/moment
› unpopular opinion
Also, I think I finally figured out how to say something about Aca!Zuko(god, I really need to come up with a better title -- suggestions welcome)-verse Zuko that I've known for a while now: he dove into books and poetry and history because being a weak scholar was safer than being a weak commander. (And you just bet Ozai would consider him weak.)
no subject
Date: 2010-11-21 12:18 am (UTC)no subject
Date: 2010-11-21 02:19 am (UTC)› favorite character
HEIJI HEIJI HEIJI. I thought Ran was going to be my favourite for sure -- I mean, she's a normal teenage girl who just happens to be a total badass! She's scared of ghosts and monsters but can dent metal walls in a single punch! I wrote a whole post detailing how much I love her! -- but then Heiji made his appearance, and I just started squeeing every time he he popped up. (Something about his friendly, slightly cocky self, combined with possible South Asian heritage + obvious GIANT CRUSH on Shinichi (and also newfound headcanon of trans-ness just makes me incredibly happy.
I do love Ran a lot, though. And Sonoko and Kaitou Kid and Chat Noir and Shinichi's WACKY PARENTS and Shinichi himself (especially at the points when he's either incredibly fake or creepy as hell). And I really love that even if there are apparently no female detectives in Japan (and no female police officers in Ekoda or Oosaka) the female characters we do get are all believable and for the most part pretty damn awesome. I just wish that once in a while we got chapters (or fic, I'm not picky) that focused not on yet another murder or a heist or omg Black Org cameo but instead things like RAN IS THE BEST GODDAMN KARATE-IST IN JAPAN or AOKO PLAYS PIANO LIKE A BOSS.
› least favorite character
Haha, I don't know if I have one? Shinichi's constant "must keep Ran in the dark no matter what" lies bother the hell out of me, as does Mouri Kogorou's terrible parenting (hitting little children on the head/throwing them across the room = NOT A GOOD IDEA. Those brains be fragile, yo*) but I don't think there are any characters I outright hate.
› prettiest character
Aoyama-sensei has a tendency to draw all his pretty characters kind of the same way. . . . Ran, maybe. Chat Noir, probably. Though Kaitou Kid is definitely the most stylish. (ahaha, I want to BE Kaitou Kid. I can deal with getting not sleep and having people shoot at me if it means I get to be AMAZING, really I can.)
› character I wanna marry
I don't really know if I could deal with any of these characters in person for a long period of time. Even Hattori . . . okay, maybe Hattori. And Sonoko and I could be AMAZING BFFs with financial benifits, we so could. But Shinichi or Hakuba would drive me insane after a while with all the Sherlock Holmes geekery, and Kaito . . . well, I could see myself being the cause of the last great DC/MK crossover, having murdered Kaitou Kid out of ENVY.
› favorite pairing
Mmm. Heishin, maybe? (I just want Heiji's GIANT CRUSH to end in happiness, okay. Romantic or otherwise.) Shinichi/Ran would be lovely if he just STOPPED LYING TO HER. I tend to gravitate towards KaiShin and Hakuba/Kaito in fic, mostly because it's really interesting to see people revealing their secrets to people who could really use that information against them, and it's fun to watch them teaming up to beat the villains, but really I can kind of take or leave romance for this series.
› favorite episode/moment
My *favourite* moment was probably that one little panel where tiny!Shinichi was holding up an open box-cutter in front of his face and grinning. Someone somewhere has an icon of that with the caption "problem child", and I think it's that icon that finally got me to pick up the manga in the first place. Oh Shinichi, you disturbed little terrifying beast you. <3
I also love every time Ran is a BAMF and every time Kid disguises himself as someone else perfectly, down to the last detail. (Scratch that last section, Ran/Kid = OTP. FOR ALWAYS.)
› unpopular opinion
I would like fic to be more about THE AMAZING ADVENTURES OF THE AWESOME DC/MK LADIES than the usual plotless romance or dudes teaming up (I know I already said I like those fics, I do, but not EVERY FUCKIN' TIME). I know most of the ongoing plot revolves around the male characters, but fandom? You can make plot-tastic things with the female characters IF YOU TRY.
*It also bothers me that in Detective Conan Land, hitting people on the head instantly knocks them out and causes no lasting damage. You'd think a detective series -- y'know, based around SOLVING MURDERS, with EVIDENCE and shit -- would try to avoid that sort of thing? Brains are pretty delicate.
no subject
Date: 2010-11-21 05:20 am (UTC)(BTW, this might come as a bit presumptuous, but I'm doing a 12 days of Christmas focusing on female characters here , so I'd appreciate it if you could throw a few prompts my way. ^.^;;