I DON'T NEED WHITE HEROES.
Jul. 1st, 2010 01:22 pminkstone: Silver Phoenix is getting a new cover . . . Whitewashing at its finest, folks. Signal boost the FUCK out of this, vote with your money, and do whatever else you can.
bossymarmalade : but we must always be polite about it This is another reason why stories matter.
megwrites: Attack of the Whitewashing Strikes Back Again! More on Silver Phoenix and whitewashing.
Roger Ebert's review of TLA Fairly interesting even if you are sick of hearing about the whole thing (which I am not, yet). He takes a good section or two to discuss the racist implications.
The almost-full (missing his last album) discography of Nujabes, aka the Samurai Champloo composer. I'm not usually a fan of hip-hop, but he did some great stuff.
megwrites: Attack of the Whitewashing Strikes Back Again! More on Silver Phoenix and whitewashing.
Roger Ebert's review of TLA Fairly interesting even if you are sick of hearing about the whole thing (which I am not, yet). He takes a good section or two to discuss the racist implications.
The almost-full (missing his last album) discography of Nujabes, aka the Samurai Champloo composer. I'm not usually a fan of hip-hop, but he did some great stuff.
no subject
Date: 2010-07-01 06:37 pm (UTC)UGH. NOT THE BOOK COVERS. IT'S ALWAYS THE BOOK COVERS. I can't even tell you how angry I am at whitewashing book covers, it happens all the time and people just try to brush it off but people DO judge a book by it's cover and I get so fucking thrilled to see YA books with POC on the cover that I WANT to buy it. =expletives thrown all about=
I'm just about failbent out, but fuck that movie.
Also, I love that icon xD
no subject
Date: 2010-07-01 11:53 pm (UTC)(Also, something clever I hadn't noticed about the original cover before: she has her clothes crossed right over left, which -- I'm pretty sure has the same connotation in China as in Japan, namely that it's something only done for dead bodies. And the title is Silver Phoenix.)
It is a good icon, indeed. :D
no subject
Date: 2010-07-02 12:29 am (UTC)I loved Ebert's TLA review -- he's always at his best (and wittiest!) when it comes to reviewing excruciatingly bad movies (thought I liked his review of Transformers 2 better, and I say that as a TF fan). And I've been meaning to check out Nujabes for a while now; I hadn't heard about his death until a month or so ago. :(
no subject
Date: 2010-07-02 04:17 am (UTC)LOLOLOL the Last Airbender, oh, I am so sorry that the series got turned into such a crappy movie, but it's getting horrible reviews and bwahaha I have no pity for M. Night Shyamalan, I have read what he's said in interviews and was terrifically unimpressed by his inability to get the point.